Resetting the device to factory settings removes all private keys, applications, and settings from your Ledger Nano device. You can reset to set it up as a new device (Ledger Nano S / Nano S Plus / Nano X), restore another recovery phrase, or safely transfer the device to someone else.
Got your Recovery sheet?
If you reset your device without having your Recovery sheet, the private keys providing access to your crypto assets will be erased. You will permanently lose access to your crypto assets.
The device can either be reset from its settings menu or by entering three incorrect PIN codes when unlocking it.
- Unlock your Ledger device by entering your PIN code.
- Hold both buttons for 3 seconds to open the Control Center.
- Go to the Settings and press both buttons to validate.
- Choose Security and press both buttons to validate.
- Choose Reset device by pressing both buttons.
- Read the warning by pressing the right button to continue.
- Press both buttons to Reset device.
- Enter your PIN code to confirm. Your device will then be reset.
- Turn on your Ledger device.
- Enter an incorrect PIN code three times in a row.
- The device will reset after the third incorrect attempt as a security measure.
After resetting your device to factory settings, you can either:
- Set it up as a new device to create new private keys and write down a new recovery phrase: Ledger Nano S / Nano S Plus / Nano X.
- Restore your device from a recovery phrase to restore the private keys associated to an existing recovery phrase.
Did your device reset automatically?
If your device displays Welcome to Ledger Nano S / S Plus / X, it has been reset. Your device can reset to factory settings automatically after updating the device firmware or encountering a bug.
Don't worry, your crypto assets are safe as long as you have your 24-word recovery phrase. Please follow the instructions to restore your private keys from your recovery phrase.