Beware of phishing attacks, Ledger will never ask for the 24 words of your recovery phrase. Never share them. Learn more

Ledger device firmware update - FAQ

Here you will find all the answers to the most common questions regarding the device firmware update.

 Upcoming Ethereum Cancun - Dened (Dencun) Upgrade Notice

Ethereum's next major upgrade, Dencun, is slated to go live on March 13, 2024 at epoch 269568. This update will introduce EIP-4844 (also known as 'proto-danksharding') which is a way for Ethereum L2 chains to add cheaper data to the Ethereum blockchain.

As a Ledger user, you will not be impacted by the Ethereum Dencun hardfork. Ethereum (ETH) accounts in Ledger Live will remain usable as normal before, during, and after the upgrade. No actions are required. Beware of scams however; your recovery phrase isn't required for the hardfork, never share your recovery phrase with anyone.

Does the update affect my crypto assets?

The private keys on your device are fully backed up by the 24-word Recovery phrase. As long as your recovery phrase is securely stored, there is no risk to your assets.

How to update a Ledger Nano?

For step-by-step instructions, please refer to our firmware update guide for Ledger Nano S, Ledger Nano S Plus, and Ledger Nano X.

Do I need to update my Ledger Nano?

Yes, we strongly recommend always updating your device to the latest firmware version to benefit from the optimal security level and user experience offered by our products.

What changes are included in the update?

Please refer to our release notes for Ledger Nano S and Ledger Nano X

Do I have to update my Ledger Nano if I am not using it?

We recommend regularly updating your devices to benefit from the optimal security level and user experience offered by our products. New (versions of) applications are also only available on the latest firmware version. 

Is it possible to downgrade the firmware?

No. For security reasons, it is not possible to downgrade the firmware of your Ledger Nano.

Why didn't my Ledger Nano prompt to check the Identifier?

Three screens are shown in an automated loop. If the right button is pressed before the other screens are shown, the update will be installed before you could have checked the identifier. As long as the update is fully installed you can continue using your device.

Was this article helpful?